Clarify on deletion and names for merge

General Discussion Started Last reply 15 posts
Hello,

I am sorry if this has been answered, if so, please, can you post link to answer? :)

1) If character is marked for deletion, will it be promptly removed upon merge, or will it be treated just like any other active character and rated it's XP?

2) If there is name conflict, will it be possible to take name from person that has name conflict as well? In other words are names free for use despite being in conflict?

3) When char was transfered, it seems it's name is reserved on old server (as I cannot create toon with same name). Will this cause name conflict upon merge or will the name be available for one character (the one that transfered)?
actually OP asked more detailed questions than notification describes.
Yup :)
This thread waves at you.
That's awfully nice of the thread to wave. What a considerate and friendly thread.
Help me understand this please since i work grave yards i'm tired . By making toons on Gustin to try and save a few names i wanted on Hinde those lvl 1's will get the delete and i'll keep the names of my toons right? Cuz that's how i understood it.

Help me understand this please since i work grave yards i'm tired . By making toons on Gustin to try and save a few names i wanted on Hinde those lvl 1's will get the delete and i'll keep the names of my toons right? Cuz that's how i understood it.



right :D
Well you never know. Their merge script may be either set by logic, or condition to look for duplicate names may go first, before counting character slots :D
I don't understand how this worked.

My toon was created within an hour of the opening stages of the Open Beta.

My toon is level 79.

But somehow I got the name change on my toon and someone (probably inactive level 20) got my name on the new merged server.

I'm a little puzzled.

I don't understand how this worked.

My toon was created within an hour of the opening stages of the Open Beta.

My toon is level 79.

But somehow I got the name change on my toon and someone (probably inactive level 20) got my name on the new merged server.

I'm a little puzzled.



I'm in the same boat, also open beta, I feel your pain :(
Oh, nm.

I guess noone is assigned the name that is conflicted. The first person that logs on I guess gets the chance to claim it.
nobody gets the name ... if a name is conflicted whoever logs in first can claim it, EVEN if it wasnt his toon's name to begin with

Unfortunately the system didnt allow for seniority/first call to a name

btw let your friends know you re no longer xxwhateverxx ... I wouldnt put it past some people to deliberatelly try to steal names off oldtimers and try and scam people with their new found notoriety.
this is why the fist thing i did was picked my original name the second i could log in. I only had 2 conflicts outta 26... but still got my original name back on both counts.:)